Update: 18.10.2017

A handful of soil can contain billions of soil microorganisms.

   Facebook Logo Linked In Logo 

The International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) is the global union of soil scientists. The objectives of the IUSS are to promote all branches of soil science, and to support all soil scientists across the world in the pursuit of their activities. This website provides information for IUSS members and those interested in soil science.

Kubiena medal

The Kubiena Medal was introduced by Subcommission B - Soil Micromorphology of the ISSS to commemorate Walter L Kubiëna for his distinguished contribution to soil micromorphology. This IUSS medal is awarded for outstanding and sustained performance in the discipline of soil micromorphology.

It is awarded every four years and presented at the World Congress of Soil Science of the IUSS.

The current selection committee for the Kubiëna Medal award is composed of G. Stoops (Belgium), E.A. FitzPatrick (UK), L. Wilding (USA), H Mücher (award holders), B. Buck (USA) and R.M. Poch (Catalonia).


  1. Statement of key achievements and career highlights of the nominee (1 page)
  2. Curriculum vitae detailing career history and publication record of the nominee
  3. Name of proposer and seconder for the nominee
  4. Any other relevant information in support of the nominee
  5. Full address and contact details of the nominee

Kubiena Medal recipients

  • Winner 2014: R. Miedema (Netherlands)
  • Winner 2010: N. Fédoroff (France)
  • Winner 1992: G. Stoops (Belgium)
  • Winner 1985: R. Brewer (Australia) and E. Yarilova (Russia)
  • Winner 1981: H.J Altemüller (Germany)
  • Winner 1985: R. Brewer (Australia) and E. Yarilova (Russia)