A handful of soil can contain billions of soil microorganisms.

   Twitter Logo  Facebook Logo Linked In Logo 

The International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) is the global union of soil scientists. The objectives of the IUSS are to promote all branches of soil science, and to support all soil scientists across the world in the pursuit of their activities. This website provides information for IUSS members and those interested in soil science.


Dan Yaalon young scientist medal

This medal is awarded by the IUSS Division 1 Soils in Space and Time and the IUSS Commission 4.5 History, philosophy and sociology of soil science. The award honours Dan Hardy Yaalon (1924-2014), a professor of soil science at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Dan H. Yaalon had 57 years of an exceptional research career. He contributed to some of the most fundamental issues of soils in space and time as well as theory and history of soil science.

❯ Read more

Kubiena medal

The Kubiena Medal was introduced by Subcommission B - Soil Micromorphology of the ISSS to commemorate Walter L Kubiëna for his distinguished contribution to soil micromorphology. This IUSS medal is awarded for outstanding and sustained performance in the discipline of soil micromorphology.

❯ Read more

The Richard Webster medal

The Pedometrics Commission of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) has decided to award a medal for the best body of work that has advanced pedometrics (the subject) in the period between consecutive IUSS World Congresses, i.e. over a period of four years.

❯ Read more

Guy Smith medal

The Guy Smith Medal Award Committee is a group of experts invited by the current officers of the IUSS Commission 1.4. Soil Classification to select outstanding individuals among the candidates proposed for investiture of the Guy Smith Medal.

❯ Read more