Dokuchaev award

This award was established in 2006. It is made for major research accomplishments, resulting from basic researches in any field of soil science.

At each World Congress of Soil Science (WCSS) IUSS grants the Dokuchaev Award to recognize outstanding contributions for basic research in soil sciences.

The award includes an engraved medal, a certificate, a US$ 1000 honorarium, and financial support to attend the presentation at the World Congress of Soil Science.

They are differentiated by the type of contribution rendered, not by professional membership grouping. Eligible are members of the International Union of Soil Sciences. Only one award can be given to one person or group of persons during one year.

Criteria & Guidelines

IUSS Dokuchaev Award 2018

Johan Bouma [Wageningen University]

Johan Bouma

The IUSS is extremely proud to announce that the 2018 winner of the of the Dokuchaev Award is Johan Bouma of Wageningen University.

Bouma studied soil science at Wageningen University, the Netherlands. Next he was postdoc at the Soils Dept. University of Wisconsin, working on soil disposal of septic tank effluent and, in 1973, tenured Associate Professor. In 1975 he moved to the Netherlands Soil Survey Institute (Stiboka) acting after 1983 as deputy director. In 1986 followed the appointment as professor of soil inventarisation and land evaluation at Wageningen University.

Bouma published some 460 articles, including 280 in internationally reviewed journals. He contributed chapters to 58 books, including 14 of which he was the main editor. His h (irsch) factor is 72. He supervised 40 PhD students, working closely with agronomists and hydrologists in interdisciplinary projects.

Bouma is fellow of the SSSA (1985) and received its President’s award in 2014. He is Honorary member of the IUSS (2006) and of the Dutch Soil Science Society (2010); He was the first soil scientist to be elected member to the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters ( 1989). He is Officer in the Order of Orange Nassau (2001). In 2017 he received the Alexander von Humboldt medal from the European Geosciences Union for his work in developing countries. In 2018 he was awarded the IUSS Dokuchaev Basic Soil Science Award.

Former recipients

Dokuchaev Award 2014 – Alex McBratney
Dokuchaev Award 2010 – Dan Yaalon
Dokuchaev Award 2006 – Victor Targulian


IUSS Alerts

The monthly IUSS Newsletter - The IUSS Alert:

To read the most recent IUSS Alert,follow this link!
To subscribe to the IUSS Alert, follow this link!
To unsubscribe from the IUSS Alert, follow this link!

Page created: 19.05.2021 | Page updated: 12.10.2019

REDAXO 5 rocks!