There are over 100,000 different types of soil in the world.

   Twitter Logo  Facebook Logo Linked In Logo 

The International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) is the global union of soil scientists. The objectives of the IUSS are to promote all branches of soil science, and to support all soil scientists across the world in the pursuit of their activities. This website provides information for IUSS members and those interested in soil science.

Report of the 50th anniversary meeting of the Austrian Soil Science Society (ASSS)

The Austrian Soil Science Society, founded in 1954, celebrated its 50th anniversary during the 2004 annual meeting (10-11 May, Federal Office and Research Centre for Forests, Mariabrunn, Vienna). The first day of the annual meeting was dedicated to the topic soil and society. The presentations of this day presented by invited speakers only covered a wide range of topics. Winfried Blum/Vienna started with an introductory talk (Soil and Society), Walter Kilian/Baden presented the History of the ASSSI, Hans Peter Blume/Kiel gave an overview of the History of Soil Research in the German Speaking Region, followed by Verena Winiwarter/Vienna with the lecture Historical Development of Soil Use in Europe. After lunch the programme continued with a talk about Soil protection a challenge for society? by Stephen Nortcliff/Reading, followed by Peter Lischer/Birmensdorf-Zurich: Intact Forest Soil an Indicator for Sustainability, Stephan Kopelent/Vienna

Soil and Soil Management in the View of Religions, Gerd Wessolek/Berlin: Soil and Art and finally Martin H. Gerzabek/Vienna: Perspectives for Soil Research in the 21st Century. Full papers of the talks will be available together with the oral and poster presentations of the second day of the meeting in the Mitteilungen der sterreichischen Bodenkundlichen Gesellschaft (see )

The anniversary meeting was attended in total by more than 110 participants. The ASSS was delighted to welcome the Secretary General of IUSS, Stephen Nortcliff, Prof. Dr. Hans Sticher, Vice-President of the Swiss Academy for Natural Sciences, the President of the German Soil Science Society, Prof. Dr. Franz Makeschin, the President of the Hungarian Soil Science Society, Prof. Dr. Gyorgy Vorallyay, the Secretary General of the Czech Soil Science Society, Dr. Milan Sanka and the representative of the Swiss Soil Science Society, Dr. Peter Luscher and many official representatives of Austrian scientific institutions and ministries. Prof. Winfried E.H. Blum, former Secretary General of IUSS and honory member received the order of merit of the Republic of Austria during a short celebration after the morning programme of the 10th of May. Prof. Blum and Prof. Eduard Klaghofer were awarded the honory membership of the ASSS during the general assembly in the evening. The general assembly decided to implement the first commission of the Society, the commission ‘Subillyricum’. This commission will provide a platform for our colleagues from Slovenia and might be the basis for a future Slovenian Soil Science Society, which does not exist today. Prof.Tomaz Prus/ University of Biotechnology, Ljubljana was elected as head of the commission.

Martin H. Gerzabek

President of the Austrian Soil Science Society