Soil is one of the most complicated biological materials on our planet.

   Twitter Logo  Facebook Logo Linked In Logo 

The International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) is the global union of soil scientists. The objectives of the IUSS are to promote all branches of soil science, and to support all soil scientists across the world in the pursuit of their activities. This website provides information for IUSS members and those interested in soil science.

27th Congress of the Polish Society of Soil Science on the 70th jubilee of Society

The 27th Congress of PSSS was held from 3 – 7 September 2007 at the Agricultural University in Warsaw. The Congress was a celebration of the 70th anniversary of the foundation of the Polish Soil Science Society. After the opening ceremony hosted by the Minister of the Environment, plenary session lectures were presented by Prof. Stephen Nortcliff – Secretary General of IUSS, Prof. Donald Sparks – Past President of IUSS, Prof. Winfried Blum – President of the European Confederation of Soil Science Societies and Prof. Ahmet Mermut – Chair Division 1 of IUSS.

Some 220 soil scientists from Poland and 25 from foreign countries participated in the Congress with the theme ‘Soils in Space and Time’. During the two days following the Opening Ceremony there were four parallel sessions covering many aspects of soil and environmental science and the management of the soil systems. During the Gala Dinner hosted by the Rector of the University, Professor Donald Sparks was made a Honorary Member of the Polish Society of Soil Science and the Golden Award of the Polish Society of Soil Science was made to Prof. Stephen Nortcliff, Prof. Stepan Poznyak (from Ukraine), Dr. hab. Goryachkin (from Russia) and Doc. Anton Zaujec (from Slovakia). After the Congress three scientific field excursions were held; one to research institutes in the Warsaw region; a one day excursion to examine soils and landscapes in the Warsaw region and a two day excursion to examine soils and landscapes in the south of Poland.

At the General Assembly of the Polish Society of Soil Science delegates elected the new Board for the period 2007-2011:

President – Prof. Dr Piotr Sklodowski
Vice-President – Prof. Dr Andrzej Mocek
Vice-President – Prof. Dr Boleslaw Bieniek
Secretary – Associate Prof. Jozef Chojnicki
Treasurer – Associate Prof. Zbigniew Zagorski

Jozef Chojnicki
Secretary of the Polish Soil Science Society
Department of Soil Environment Sciences, Faculty of Agriculture and Biology
Warsaw Agricultural University
02-776 Warszawa, 159/37 Nowoursynowska Street