Taking care of soils since 1924

IUSS Distinguished Service Medal

IUSS Distinguished Service Medal
IUSS Distinguished Service Medal

Following its mission, since 2012 the IUSS has recognized outstanding world soil leaders who have translated soil science into action, by awarding the IUSS Distinguished Service Medal.

The IUSS Distinguished Service Medal is a recognition for people who have served the IUSS as a worldwide organization in a way that has been more than committed to its goals, having behaved worthy of this distinction.

Consequently, this is an award to recognize people who throughout their lives have distinguished themselves for actions that contributed significantly to the growth and consolidation of the IUSS, of the soil science as well as the promotion and reinforcement of public policies for soil resource preservation.


Year IUSS Distinguished Medal awarded
2012 HRH the late King of Thailand Bhumibol Adulyadej
2016 HE Hon’ble Stéphan Le Foll Minister of Agriculture and Food of France
2017 Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Klaus Töpfer German Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety;
Federal Minister for Regional Planning, Civil Engineering and Urban Development;
Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations;
Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme;
Executive Director of the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies.
2018 HE Mr. Aziz Akhannouch Minister of Agriculture of the Kingdom of Morocco
2019 Mr. Antonio Walker and Mrs. Carolina Schimdt Ministers of Agriculture and Environment of Chile
2020 Dr. Franz Fischler Former Minister of Agriculture of Austria and Commissioner for Agriculture, Rural Development and Fisheries of the European Union
2021 Dr. Taolin Zhang Vice Minister of Agriculture and Rural Affairs of China
2022 Global Soil Partnership The Global Soil Partnership is an interactive, responsive and voluntary partnership, open to governments, regional organizations, institutions and other stakeholders at various levels. It was established in December 2012 and is hosted by FAO.