Taking care of soils since 1924

Von Liebig award

Von Liebig award
Von Liebig award

This award was established in 2006. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in applied soil science research, contributing to new discoveries, techniques, inventions or materials that increase food security, improve environmental quality or conservation, land and water development, and other areas covered by the divisional structure of IUSS.

At each World Congress of Soil Science (WCSS) IUSS grants the Von Liebig Award to recognize outstanding contributions for applied research in soil sciences.

The award includes an engraved medal, a certificate, a US$ 1.000 honorarium, and financial support to attend the presentation at the World Congress of Soil Science.

They are differentiated by the type of contribution rendered, not by professional membership grouping.

Eligible are members of the International Union of Soil Sciences. Only one award can be given to one person or group of persons during one year.

Criteria & Guidelines

IUSS Von Liebig Award 2022

Yong-Guan Zhu
Dr. Yong-Guan Zhu is the recipient of the 2022 IUSS Von Liebig Award for his achievements in applied soil science research. Dr. Zhu has made outstanding contributions in the field of soil-plant-microbe interactions, particularly in relation to the biogeochemistry of metals (arsenic), emerging chemicals (antibiotics), and nutrients (nitrogen and phosphorus).

Dr. Zhu’s research has led to detailed understanding of the effects of arsenic on the global food supply and was the first to characterize the risk of food arsenic to the health of the Chinese population. In addition to arsenic, he has made substantial contributions to the mitigation of risks associated with soil polluted with radionuclides, pioneered the characterization of the environmental antimicrobial resistome (AMR) and developed the field of coupled biogeochemical processes. One of his most enduring contributions is his leadership in promoting multidisciplinary study in applied soil science in China.

Dr. Zhu has also provided leadership to his profession by serving as Vice President of the Chinese Society of Soil Science, Chinese Ecological Society, and the International Society of Trace Element Biogeochemistry; Vice Division Chair of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) and Vice President of the International Union of Radioecology.

Former recipients

  • 2018 Winner of IUSS Von Liebig Award : John Ryan
  • 2014 Winner of IUSS Von Liebig Award : Magdi Selim †
  • 2010 Winner of IUSS Von Liebig Award : Don Sparks
  • 2006 Winner of IUSS Von Liebig Award: Rattan Lal